FRIENDS OF THE FAR NORTH LINE MINUTES OF AGM, BRORA, 21 JUNE 2019 at 10:30

SEDERUNT

Total 23 members.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Jamie Stone MP, President

John Finnie MSP and Rhoda Grant MSP, Vice Presidents

Mike Lunan, David Spaven, David Start, Angus Stewart, Malcolm Wood *Committee Members*

Alastair and Mrs Janetta Christie, Mrs N Hart, Mrs Annette Parrott, Members

MINUTES OF THE 2018 AGM IN THURSO ON 1 JUNE (CIRCULATED)

Approved.

Proposer: John Brandon

Seconder: Allison Cosgrove

There were no Matters Arising

CONVENER'S REPORT

lan Budd presented his report for the past year which will be published in the FNE.

He paid tribute to the work of two committee members who had died during the year: John Melling (Chairman 1997 to 2003) and Bob Barnes Watts.

Train service performance had not been good during the year, but much encouragement was drawn from the Far North Line Review Team established by Fergus Ewing MSP for which Network Rail, ScotRail and others had done a tremendous amount of work considering all aspects of the line and how it might be improved. The results of some of this work are already apparent on the ground and there are hopes for major enhancements over the next few years.

lan also mentioned two radically new service proposals which are being evaluated; a sleeper train from Caithness to Edinburgh and Glasgow and a pioneering battery train shuttle service between Wick and Thurso.

TREASURER'S REPORT

The year showed a surplus of £1246.21.

The Accounts for the calendar year 2018 were approved.

Mr Roland St. Clere Smithe was appointed Independent Examiner of the Accounts.

Proposer: Anne-Mary Wharton

Seconder: lain MacDonald

MEMBERSHIP REPORT

Membership has increased to 209 including two Community Councils and two corporate organisations.

ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

Convener lan Budd

Richard Ardern; John Brandon

Treasurer David Start

John Brandon; Ian Budd

Secretary no appointment made

Membership Secretary Angus Stewart

Ian Budd; Allison Cosgrove

Editor Ian Budd

Richard Ardern; Michael Willmot

ELECTION OF ORDINARY COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Richard Ardern

Ian Budd; Allison Cosgrove

Mike Lunan

John Brandon; Ian Budd

lain MacDonald

Sandy Colley; Michael Willmot

David Spaven

Ian Budd; Allison Cosgrove

Malcolm Wood

Iain MacDonald; Martin Stillwell

AOCB

John Yellowlees reminded members that 2020 is the *Year of Coasts and Water* with which FoFNL might like to be involved.

Richard Ardern proposed a vote of thanks to Convener, lan Budd.

The meeting closed at 11:05.